Making jerky

Now, before I tell you all about our jerky making adventures and how to make jerky, I have to tell you that I didn’t really do much of the work. Unless you count mixing the seasoning together and leaving it on the counter for several days until it had to be thrown out because it was disgusting, had Asian lady beetles in it, and had a dirty towel land in it (shh, I don’t think I told anyone else that part!). Other than eating the finished product, that was my only real contribution. Tim did the rest, so I must give credit where credit is due.

This post is more about our learning how to do this rather than being able to teach anyone else how to do it. Keep that in mind, too. If you want to learn how to make jerky yourself, I suggest searching some other sites or good old-fashioned trial and error, which worked for us.

First, Scott the Farmer gave us some venison to turn into jerky. He has particular cuts of meat that he prefers for jerky. That’s all I can tell you because I am not wise in the ways of cuts of meat, especially cuts of deer meat. Second, he gave us the recipe he uses. I will post that and give him credit even though I am not sure where he got the recipe from. I suspect it is not from a cookbook or anything, though.

  • Two cups soy sauce (adjust to taste)
  • 4 oz. liquid smoke
  • 2-3 T worstershire sauce
  • red pepper flakes
  • 1/2 to 3/4 cups honey

Whisk and let sit.

That’s it. Now there are some other directions Tim found on the Internet, but basically you slice the meat (keep in mind it will get thinner while drying, of course), soak it in the sauce as long as you like. Then put it in a dehydrator or an oven. We turned the oven on to the lowest setting, which turned out to be too high, really. The first batch was in the oven overnight and it was pretty dry. It was still edible, though. The second batch Tim made used more honey and we watched it more carefully so it didn’t get too dry. It was delicious!

The best thing about jerky is that it is a great snack. It keeps well in the car, even in the summer. It’s low in carbohydrates and fat, but high in protein. The problem with store bought jerky is that it is expensive and it almost always contains MSG! Making at home gives you more control over the ingredients you use. And I’m sure there are a ton of recipes for jerky seasoning and there are many stores that sell jerky seasoning packets. I have no idea what is in those, though.

I can say that making jerky was surprisingly easy and super delicious. We have more venison in our freezer that is good for jerky, so we will make some again soon.

Edited to add this link to Making Jerky in Mother Earth News.

This post is part of Fight Back Friday at Food Renegade

3 Responses to “Making jerky”

  1. Paul Says:

    I never tried using honey. Maybe next jerky making, I’ll have to try it.

    • hippygirl Says:

      Do you use sugar of some kind? I’ve seen recipes with brown sugar. I wonder if the honey gets absorbed more because it is a liquid?

  2. Jassica Says:

    I’m not particularly fond of sweet-tasting jerky myself, but I love, love, love venison jerky. I wish I had a good way of getting my hands on some venison right now, but I don’t.

    I think the brown sugar would dissolve in the soy sauce and be absorbed just fine.

    A benefit to (raw) honey might be the enzymes in it might make the meat a little more tender. It also has antibiotic properties which might keep it from going bad while marinading it. I recently read a summary of a scientific article on using honey in salad dressing instead of EDTA as the preservative and instead of HFCS as the sweetener. It kept the dressing good for 9 months! So, I would stick with the honey!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

