Winter Cakes

When I woke up this morning I had a craving, or perhaps just a hankering, for something with molasses, butter, oats, and cinnamon. I looked for a recipe to use but didn’t really find one that was what I was looking for, so I made something up. Now, I’m not saying this was the most awesome recipe in the world or anything, but it turned out pretty good and really hit the spot. I wasn’t sure what to call this recipe – bars, cake, bread? Then it snowed the littlest, tiniest bit and the kids came in the house (after being out for less than 10 minutes!) just in time to have some warm goodness. Aidan called them Winter Cakes and I thought it was very fitting.

So I’m posting this recipe (though it’s more of an idea than a recipe) partly to share it and partly so I can find it again. I have to write it down before I forget. I did not measure everything, so some things are a guess, such as the spices. I added about the same amount of nutmeg, cloves, and ginger but put in a lot of cinnamon.

Winter Cakes

  • 1 stick butter, softened
  • 1.5 cups brown sugar (though it would be tasty with molasses, honey, or syrup as a sweetener, too)
  • 3 tsp vanilla
  • 2 eggs, room temperature
  • 1/4 t salt (actually I used a little less because it was sea salt which seems saltier to me)
  • 1 cup flour (I used white whole wheat)
  • 1/2 t baking soda
  • 1/4 t ginger
  • 1/4 t ground cloves
  • 1/4 t nutmeg
  • 1.5 t cinnamon
  • 1 cup oats (not sure about this, added enough so that it wasn’t too dry but it had plenty of oats in it)
  • chocolate chips, optional

Cream together butter, sugar, vanilla, eggs, salt. In a separate bowl, mix together flour, baking powder, and spices. Add to creamed mixture. Then add oats and chocolate chips. I put mine in some mini-loaf pan (similar to this one. I baked it on 350 on the top rack (we had a leg of venison roasting at the same time), but cold probably do 300 on a middle rack. I have no idea how long it baked, but the toothpick test worked fine.

This post is part of Food Renegade’s Fight Back Friday. Take a look at what other people are cooking up and writing about real food.

6 Responses to “Winter Cakes”

  1. 5orangepotatoes Says:

    Yummy! These sound delicious! Thanks for sharing the recipe. I might try and make these tomorrow!

    lisa

  2. Shannon Says:

    It sounds delicious! It sounds like you cook like I do…approximating measurements and going with the gut. It doesn’t always work out, but when it does, it is immensely satisfying!

  3. Christopher Says:

    These do sound very interestingly yummy, however I must say that every totally awesome recipe has one flaw, once you master winging together all the ingedients together into the mouthwatering masterpiece it turns out to be, no matter how many times I try to duplicate it, it always seems to “need something” but you just cant put your finger on it. I guess that is what makes cooking like we do so fun, you never knnow what you get, but when you get it, it is to die for.

  4. Fight Back Friday December 4th | Food Renegade Says:

    […] by Criticizing GMOs2. The Kathleen Show (Kicking cancer naturally)3. TwirlandTaste-RollAround4. hippygirl (winter cakes – a recipe))5. ButterYum – Really Yummy Baked Oatmeal6. REAL FOOD AS A CELLULITE TREATMENT – Kelly […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

