Gluten and Dairy free chicken fried steak

This post is part of Fight Back Friday at Food Renegade. Check out the other links for recipes, news, and thoughts on real food, slow food, organic and/or local food!

Food Renegade Banner

Can you say YUM? These were really, really yummy. Of course, I did some research and found some recipes* that inspired me and then tweaked them to make them gluten and dairy free. I made my own gluten-free flour blend, as well. First, the recipe I based mine on is Gluten Free Chicken Fried Steak from Mom Cooks Gluten Free. I barely had to tweak this because it was already gluten-free. The major changes I made were that I used arrowroot powder instead of cornstarch (making it corn free). Also, I used Spectrum Organic vegetable shortening. If I had some lard from pastured pork, I would probably have used that. I also used Earth Balance Natural Buttery Spread – Soy Free. I doubled this recipe (there are 3 adults and 2 kids to feed in our house) and we had leftovers for breakfast/lunch the next day. This is the recipe from the website, with my changes in bold after each ingredient. Honestly, it’s a really good recipe, so I hardly changed a thing. I just used what I had on hand and also made it dairy-free. You could quite easily stick to the original recipe and it would be delicious.

Ingredients:

  • 4 cube steaks (4 to 6 oz each) I used grass-fed cubed steak and tenderized it.
  • 1 1/2 cups gluten free flour blend (I used the Authentic Foods Gluten Free Multi-Grain, but you can use any flour blend. See note below.) I made my own blend, see link below.
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 1/2 tsp salt I used sea salt
  • 1 1/2 tsp black pepper
  • 1 tsp paprika
  • 1/2 tsp onion powder I had dehydrated onion slices, so ground them into a powder
  • 1/2 cup of shortening I used Spectrum Organic Vegetable shortening
  • 4 Tbsp butter I used Earth Balance Soy Free
  • 1 1/2 cup of milk (cow, rice or soy…I used cow) I used goat’s milk
  • 2-3 tsp corn starch or potato starch I used arrowroot starch and I think it took a little bit more, but my gravy was lumpy as I am inexperienced at making gravy!
  • Additional salt and pepper to taste

Directions:

  1. Pound the steaks with a mallet to tenderize them (not too thin).
  2. Whisk eggs and place in a bowl big enough to dip the steaks in.
  3. In a large bowl, mix together the flour, salt, pepper and paprika. Divide the flour mixture between two large plastic bags. I just poured the stuff in the ziploc bags and shook them up good!
  4. Mix the steaks in the first flour mixture, one by one.
  5. Then dip them in the eggs.
  6. Then shake in the second flour mixture until fully coated. (repeat if necessary)
  7. In a large skillet (cast iron or non-stick because you want the drippings/brown bits for gravy), heat the 1/2 cup of shortening over medium heat (350 deg F). I added more as I went along and seemed to need more.
  8. Brown the steaks on both sides for approximately 2-4 minutes each side until steaks are cooked through.
  9. Set steaks aside and cover/tent to keep warm.
  10. In the same pan, pour off the shortening and add 4 Tbsp of butter and melt over medium heat. (you want to use the browned bits from the steaks to help flavor the gravy) I didn’t pour off the shortening as there wasn’t much left at this point.
  11. Slowly add the corn starch, stirring while doing so. Again, I used arrowroot starch.
  12. Add the 1 1/2 cup of milk slowly, continuing to stir. Heat through and stir to eliminate any lumps.
  13. Add salt and pepper to taste.
  14. Serve with mashed potatoes. I served with green beans and corn because we didn’t have potatoes.

As far as the gluten-free flour blend goes, I used this blend, which is a blend of brown rice f lour, tapioca starch, and bean flour or sorghum. I used sorghum and sifted them together thoroughly.

*It’s so important to give credit to recipes. Simply cutting and pasting someone else’s recipe is not OK. Always, always give credit, a trackback, or whatever. I try to do this, no matter how much, or how little, I might change the original recipe.

6 Responses to “Gluten and Dairy free chicken fried steak”

  1. Tweets that mention Gluten and Dairy free chicken fried steak « A Hippy Girl in the Country -- Topsy.com Says:

    [...] This post was mentioned on Twitter by hippygirl. hippygirl said: Fight Back Friday – GFCF chicken fried steak. http://hippygirl.wordpress.com/2010/04/23/gluten-and-dairy-free-chicken-fried-steak/ [...]

  2. Britt Says:

    Hi, I’d just like to leave a comment on your ingredients.

    Goat’s milk is dairy and most types of the milks you listed (rice, soy, etc.) have milk ingredients. So you can’t really claim this is a dairy-free recipe.

    • hippygirl Says:

      I would expect anyone with a serious allergy to look at what they buy before making a recipe they find on the Internet. If almond milk and rice milk have dairy in them, it’s definitely a hidden ingredient.

  3. Don Says:

    I react pretty badly and instantly with any dairy. I eat rice and soy milk and not only do they not hurt my stomach or give me hives, it would be a “hidden” ingredient. So, perhaps your information is skewed Britt.

  4. thebestsleepingaids.wordpress.com Says:

    If some one wishes to be updated with newest technologies
    therefore he must be go to see this website and be up to date daily.

  5. Lorenza Says:

    Pretty! This was an incredibly wonderful article. Many thanks
    for supplying these details.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

