The little peepers

I couldn’t find my charger, so I had Tim charge my camera battery since he has the same kind of camera. So, finally, here are some pictures of the chicks:

Six chicks

Six chicks

Curious chicks

Curious chicks

Wing feathers!

Wing feathers!

One of the pullets

Two of the pullets

They are so darn cute! They have already changed a lot and we’ve only had them for a week. They have more feathers on their wings and tales than when we got them. Some of the pullets are flying and stretching their wings.

Yesterday we decided to give them a bit more room. They were in a Rubbermaid tote. That did work well for a week, but then it was getting a bit cramped and hot in there, so we used the bottom part of the box our oven came in. I know that will only work until it gets too wet or mucked up. It’s pretty thick cardboard, so hopefully that will be a week or so. I have to keep them locked up in Aidan’s room so the indoor cats don’t get in there and get too curious for their own good.

The one with the little mark on his head is Chicken Joe. He’s the cockerel and we named him after Chicken Joe on the movie Surf’s Up. I can’t wait to hear his baby crows and see him strutting his stuff. πŸ™‚

Tags: , , ,

3 Responses to “The little peepers”

  1. thegardensmallholder Says:

    Oh my! How cute are they?!! How old are they now?
    Gorgeous!

    • hippygirl Says:

      We got them a week ago at a farm supply store. I know they got them from a hatchery, so they were at least a few days old when we got them, but I don’t think they were much older than that. So I’m not really sure, but I’d guess around 2 weeks old.

  2. thegardensmallholder Says:

    They are adorable πŸ™‚ Love the wing stretch photo!

Leave a Reply

