Things I’ve learned that I wish I knew sooner

I don’t have a lot of time to post at the moment, but I still make time to read. So here are some things I’ve learned in the reading I did this weekend.

  1. I should have started planning the garden in the middle of winter.
  2. Spinach apparently doesn’t transfer well (already planted some seeds in little pots).
  3. Broccoli doesn’t grow well in midsummer and takes a long time to grow (should have planted seeds in little pots weeks ago, now will have to buy transplants from the nursery or wait for a fall crop).
  4. Vinyl blind slats work well for marking out a square foot garden (OK, this is good because we have an old vinyl blind right out on the front porch that hasn’t made it to the trash yet).

I’m sure there is a ton more I will be learning. If you have any advice, let me know now. 🙂

Tags: , , ,

6 Responses to “Things I’ve learned that I wish I knew sooner”

  1. Abiga/karen Says:

    Hi, We have five hens and a rooster that we let free range during the day. We do lock them up in a coop in the barn at night though. Nothing has gotten them during the day and we do have hawks and occasional stray dogs. We did see a hawk swoop down to grab a song bird near the birdfeeder one day. The rooster keeps watch over them for the most part and we have plenty of trees or bushes they can head under as far as the hawks are concerned. The rooster fought something off at night in the coop as he was covered around his neck in blood one morning, we will never know. But now that garden time is here we have to rethink what to do. So far some things are covered but chickens like to scratch up or chow down on new plants. There is always new plans on a farm to solve the needs. Blessings.

  2. hippygirl Says:

    Yeah, I might try a little free ranging here and there, it just depends. We will have to have a fence around the garden to keep out deer and bunnies, so the chickens wouldn’t go in there unless we let them (or unless they are really determined to fly in there, I guess!). But for now I am too worried about the hawks and eagles. There is cover and we do have a rooster, but even so, I worry. We’ve invested some money, time, and love already in these silly chickens and I’d hate to see one gobbled up by a hawk, you know?

    • nobbydamus Says:

      Hi we live in a city in new zealand, there are hawks here, but they dont come into the city, however the girls have a built in natural reaction to anything big that flies over, seagulls seem to give them the most concern, they dart for the bushes when a plane flies over too, It would be more of a shame to keep the hens penned up, rather than free range, better to live one a day as a free bird than a thousand as a penned in bird, thats my philosophy, taken from the italian proverb, better to live one day as a tiger than a thousand as a sheep.

      • hippygirl Says:

        i started a reply to this the other day, but the internet connection at my house was giving me a hard time!

        anyway, i just wanted to say that i do agree with you in spirit. i’d love to let my chickens run around and be free, but i also feel that since i’ve taken care of them since they were a few days old, i owe it to them to keep them safe. what i will do (or tim, at any rate) is build them a nice hen house and a big yard where they can roost and run and fly and scratch and take dust baths and do all the things that make them happy. we have a lot of yard, so we can give them lots of room to roam around, just so long as they are safe.

        once i see how things go and maybe get braver, then i might let them out while we are outside, too. i’ll have to see how things go. i’m always open to new ideas, but i guess i am going to be cautious at first. 🙂

  3. Deano Says:

    Spinach transfers OK if the roots are not disturbed. If you’ve planted some in pots, they should be OK provided that you don’t let them get too big first.

    Deano

  4. hippygirl Says:

    Deano, glad to hear that. I figure if they sprout I will try to transplant them. Nothing to lose by trying! I hope to have the garden tilled soon and to be able to transplant them soon after, as well. So hopefully they won’t get too big.

Leave a Reply

