Garden plans

I planted some more herb seeds today (chives, rosemary, dill, and oregano). This time I also washed out the pots, which I should have done when I planted the first batch of herbs and spinach seeds. I will have to find more containers before I can plant anything else! I am reluctant to buy anything else because consumption is not good for the environment and because I saw some great ideas for reusing containers to start seedlings. Eventually I will probably start an area outside for the herbs, but for now I was planning on having them indoors. I have a nice, big window sill above the kitchen sink that should work nicely for herbs, assuming I can find a different home for all the other plants currently live above the sink.

As far as the garden goes, we are still waiting for the people from the nursery to come by and till our garden area. It’s been cold and rainy and wet, and it’s really a bit early to plant outside anyway. Everyone keeps telling me it’s still early and I know they are right, but I am excited/anxious to get started. I feel like I need more of a plan for the garden, though, so I need to work on that. I have figured out some things already. I plan to use square foot gardening, which I read about a few years ago, based on the suggestion of a friend in Phoenix (Hi, Joline!).

Square foot gardening appeals to me on many levels. First, the author, Mel Bartholomew, mentions that using rows is really good for big farms where they use big tractors and need room to get down the rows. Well, I don’t have a tractor and neither do most gardeners. Also, square foot gardening is a type of raised bed gardening. Raised beds are supposed to be good for a lot of reasons: more productive per square foot, and better soil because it is not compacted by being walked on, for example. Another great idea he has is to plant only as many seeds as you need, instead of throwing down a bunch and then spending all that time thinning them out later. That makes a lot of sense to me, as it seems so wasteful to spread a bunch of seeds (even though they are incredibly cheap) and then pull up half or more of the plants later. He also talks about successive planting so that you don’t have to harvest everything at the same time. There are a lot of good ideas in that book, and I hope to be able to put those ideas to good use and have a good, productive garden. Now, I say all this but I have never really had a garden, so who knows how it will work out. I just know that when I read the book, his ideas made a lot of sense.

The other plan I have is to grow things organically. I did not buy organic or heirloom seeds. Instead, I bought seeds from the local farm supply store. I know this is not the best option, but I figured it will do for this growing season. Other than the seeds, everything else will be done organically. So far, I’ve used organic potting soil for all the seedlings I’ve planted. We won’t spray or use chemicals. Luckily, I know an organic farmer who can give me advice if we have some problems and need to get rid of some pests. So my garden will be organic, even if all the seeds were not organic.

So that’s the plan so far. I will, of course, write about the garden more as we do some more work and get things going. Maybe tomorrow we will put the chicks in the movable coop and make some more boxes for the garden. I can keep an eye on the chicks while making the boxes, so that if they get too cold we can bring them back in the house. I know the will absolutely love the fresh air and having more room!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One Response to “Garden plans”

  1. cyclingchicken Says:

    I don’t know if this suggestion is organic or not, but I read that you can take cigarette ashes and spread on the plants and something in the tobacco keeps pest away. As we don’t smoke, I have asked my neighbor to save hers, so we can put them on the tomato plants I bought for hubby.

    We planted the tomato plants in the chicken yard (great fertilized soil) and have a small fence with a blanket around the bottom (baby chicks still small enough to get through welded wire) to keep the chickens out. When the plants get bigger and the baby chicks too fat to get in the fenced area we will remove the blanket and let the chickens stick their heads in and eat bugs and weeds. We figure they would enjoy some of the tomatoes too. We don’t eat a whole lot of tomatoes, so it won’t be such a big deal.

Leave a Reply

