Killing grass

For some reason, I forgot to link to this blog post which got me all excited to research no tilling last night. I think I got to Hot Belly Mama through The Compost Bin.

Anyway, the thing I liked about this post is that she is just using mulch, straw and leaves, to kill the grass underneath and then using raised beds. So simple! No digging or tilling or chemicals. It was inspiring. I love the Internet!

Tags: , , , , , , ,

4 Responses to “Killing grass”

  1. Janelle Says:

    Thank you! I just added you to my list! I can’t wait to follow along and see how you do as well. I am new to it as well and I am sure we can both learn from each other! Today, I am actually going to be putting hay down on top of the leaves (from our chicken coop). They say NOT to put chicken poop down as it kills plants (nitrogen is very strong), but it does work wonders if that is exactly your purpose and if you stir it in. 🙂

  2. nobbydamus Says:

    Doesn’t that leave hard packed soiled underneath though?
    say if you were growing corn, it might not be able to go down very far, I had a bit of a problem with carrots, that could breakthrough the tough ground underneath, and as a result they grow short coiled carrots.

  3. hippygirl Says:

    Yeah, that is the big benefit of tilling – breaking up the soil to get air in. But I think if you have a lot of worms working through stuff, they will help do that, too.

    AND if you have deep raised beds (I’m thinking 12 inches or more) it probably works best. What do you guys think?

  4. Garden Experiments « A Hippy Girl in the Country Says:

    […] waiting for the tilling, I’ve been experimenting with killing grass. I have three 4′ X 4′ garden frames built and they are all out in the garden. For […]

Leave a Reply

