5 week old chickens

I have a ton of pictures I want to post, but right now I will just do the chicks. I think I will start a separate page to document the progress of the garden and post a bunch of pictures there.

Chicks at 5 weeks old

Chicks at 5 weeks old

 

Chickens Eating

Chickens Eating

 

Look at that comb!

Look at that comb!

 

Chickens with smaller combs

Chickens with smaller combs

 

One of the chickens on a perch inside the movable coop

One of the chickens on a perch inside the movable coop

Tags: , , , , , ,

6 Responses to “5 week old chickens”

  1. Janelle Says:

    I totally understand the need for another blog. So far I have resisted. I discovered that I can write a bunch of blogs, date them and they post on the dates I schedule them for. Sort of like delayed posting. Sometimes, I’ve got bunch of blogs in me that need to come out!

    Your chicks are cute. I can’t believe my 8 week old chicks used to look like that. They went through the same ugly duckling stage and now they are back to being cute, soft and fluffy! Enjoy!

    • hippygirl Says:

      I admit I sometimes cheat and write two posts and then schedule one for the next morning. I just don’t like to make more than one post a day because I’m afraid they’ll get lost somehow or something. I don’t know. It’s probably silly and it’s probably better to just post when I have the time and inclination and not worry if there’s three posts on one day and none for the next three days. 🙂

      I don’t really feel like I need another blog, but I do feel like the gardening page was a good idea. And I hope you didn’t think I meant that you should have a different blog! I love how you post about gardening and chickens and motherhood and all that. I guess for me the motherhood part is challening and personal and not something I want to share with the world, but that’s just me and what is right for me, if that makes sense. At the same time I feel that some things are private and personal for me, I do see how it’s all connected. Living sustainably is totally related to co-sleeping, breastfeeding, homebirth, etc. I’m sure there’s a post there, but maybe it’s one for you to write.

  2. cyclingchicken Says:

    I love watching baby chicks feather out.

    • hippygirl Says:

      Yeah, it’s been quite fun. I’m planning on getting a few more chicks in late spring or summer, as soon as it’s warm enough to brood them outside (or in the garage, I guess).

  3. dadabean Says:

    They are so cute! I love them at that stage. They also seem a bit more friendly, sometimes visibly showing that they are happy to see you. At some point, they become a little mean and distant, until they start laying, and then become friendly again.

    • hippygirl Says:

      With the chickens being in the movable coop, we can’t really handle them as much, so I don’t know how friendly they are right now. I do know that we have trained them well that when they see our fingers, there might be worms. Now they kind of peck at our fingers, but not to be mean, just because they are expecing worms. 🙂

Leave a Reply

