Added new page

I had so many pictures I wanted to post, but I didn’t want to post them all on the same page, so I started a new page about our garden, including pictures. Click here to go see it, or click on the Garden in Progress link to the right. I’ll update it and add more pictures as I do more garden stuff, which should be daily at this point.

Today I plan to work on the garden layout some more. I got a lot done on that yesterday, but need to flesh it out a bit more today. Then I need to check the seedlings and take some pictures of them. I’m really excited that some of the herbs are sprouting now! I noticed the oregano was sprouting a couple of days ago, then yesterday saw that the chives and dill were sprouting. Hooray!

I need to go buy a ton of potting soil so I can at least get a 4′ X 4′ square of lettuce and radishes planted (is it too early for radishes??). I can’t do that without Tim’s truck, though, so I will have to wait. In the meantime, I think I will cut up the old vinyl blinds and use them for grids to mark the squares. I think the kids might help with that because it could be fun.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

3 Responses to “Added new page”

  1. Janelle Says:

    Beautiful! What an awesome idea to keep track of your progress! How is the no-till effort working?

    • hippygirl Says:

      Well, Scott the Farmer looked at it and said his mom used to use newspapers, but you need something like 10 layers, he said. He wasn’t sure, but I definitely need more, so going out to do that now. 🙂

  2. hippygirl Says:

    How funny is it that we just don’t have enough newspaper? I know it makes good mulch and will work to kill grass, but the only newspaper I have is from Tom’s trip to Michigan, which was over a month ago. I think I’ll try cardboard on one of the others and see if it works to kill the grass.

    How is your no till stuff working? 🙂 You’ll have to post more pictures soon.

Leave a Reply

