Chickens at 6 weeks

The chickens are so darn cute. The kids are cute, too. So when you put them together, the cuteness is almost unbearable. Thursday, April 23, was their 6 week birthday. The kids seemed to know this without being told. They were celebrating Chicken Joe’s birthday by giving him “grass pops,” which are just really long blades of grass. They were also pulling up grass by the handful to feed the chickens. Aidan kept saying that he was getting some birthday cake for Chicken Joe, which was just weeds. The kids were being so cute about the chickens.

Here are some pictures of them inside the movable coop.

Chickens at 6 weeks old

Chickens at 6 weeks old

Chickens checking me out

Chickens checking me out

Check out that comb development

Check out that comb development

All six of the chicks

All six of the chicks

Close up of one of the pullets

Close up of one of the pullets

They are spending the nights outside now, but inside the movable coop, of course. The second night they were out, I sat there watching them, hoping to hear Chicken Joe crow. Instead, they were peeping like something was wrong. I checked their food and water and filled up both, but they were still peeping. I checked to see if something was inside the house part of the movable coop, but it was nothing. So I figured they were fine, but just wigged out about it getting dark out. The next night they did the same thing. I went to the forums at Backyard Chickens and found out that chickens can be scared of the dark if they have always had light, which mine had. When we had them in the garage, we would still turn on the heating lamp at night time. So, darkness was totally new to them and they seemed a bit scared. I’m sure it will pass. Last night we got home well after dark and they had put themselves in the house and were roosting. I only had to put the door up and check all the latches. It was pretty cool!

We want to build a bigger run for them and possibly a bigger hen house since I plant to get a few more chicks in summer, when I can safely brood them in the garage. I think I’ve probably said that before! I’d like to have the hen house and run done before we get the other chicks so that we can brood the chicks in the movable coop and slowly introduce them to the other chickens. I’ll have to get busy doing that, but Tim has been working so much that the housework is piling up and we aren’t getting much built since he is the master builder of the house! 🙂 I can plan the hen house to some extent and I can certainly go buy things, but when it comes to the building part, I am a lowly apprentice.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

