Two roosters?

Last week I got a question in the comments from Kristi who was trying to figure out why one of her Buff Orpingtons looked so different. In trying to help her figure it out, I happened upon How to tell the sex of chicks on the blog Raising Chickens: Keeping Chickens in your Backyard. For Kristi, it turned out that she had a Buff Orpington and a Buff Brahma, which must have gotten mixed together at the store where she got them.

In our case, I am sure that we have six New Hampshire chickens. I’m also sure that we have two cockerels and four pullets, instead of one cockerel and five pullets. Last week, Tim commented that one of our “pullets” looks a lot like Chicken Joe. I dismissed that because I was in denial. I noticed a long time ago that one “pullet” was developing waddles and a comb faster than the other pullets. I thought she was simply developing more quickly. However, the other pullets should have noticeable wattles and combs by now and they don’t. The other reason I was in denial is because the feathers on the other rooster look more like the feathers on the pullets in terms of color and shape. Anyhow, there is no denying it now. We have two cockerels. 

Two chickens with big combs = two cockerels

Two chickens with big combs = two cockerels

I didn’t really need anymore proof, but I got some more today. Tim pointed out our two cockerels to Scott the Farmer, he agreed it looks like we have two. Tim said we’d eat one, but I’m not sure about that! We’ll have to see what happens. I am planning on getting more hens this summer, so maybe it will work out to have two roosters. I’ll have to watch them, the way Hot Belly Mama watches hers to see which is gentler and watches out for the pullets the best. The cockerels aren’t really fighting yet, but I’ve seen them kind of rush at each other with their feathers all ruffled and last night I saw Chicken Joe on a perch with two pullets and the other cockerel on another perch with the other two pullets. As much as I think that was really cute and sweet, I also realize that when they are older, two hens per rooster will not be enough! I am worried that the roosters will fight and that the poor hens will be ravaged because there aren’t enough of them for each rooster. Even if I get 4 more pullets, it might not be enough. So I would either have to get a lot more pullets or eat one of the roosters. If one turns out to be mean, it will be an easy decision to make, even if I don’t eat him myself.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 Responses to “Two roosters?”

  1. Ang. Says:

    Hey, I twittered this but thought I would leave a comment. I got 95 buff orpington chicks from the farm store for $.40 each. They are straight run…would you be interested in any of them? They are a nice big chicken and the roosters can be used for the table. Let me know. I don’t really need 95 more chickens! Nothing like nearly doubling your flock in one fell swoop!

    • hippygirl Says:

      I’m thinking about it! I am definitely interested and need to talk to the guys and build another brooder. How old are they?

  2. Ang. Says:

    They are newly hatched. Somehow they got a mystery shipment of chicks weeks after they had put all of their chick equipment away. These chicks normally run around $1.80. So 40 cents is pretty darn cheap!

Leave a Reply

