Sometimes you have to laugh at yourself

I am full of ideas, some good and some bad. Before the grass grew and we had to mow, I was telling the guys that we could get a reel mower. I saw one of the Amish boys using one on their lawn and I felt inspired. I figured between that and letting the cows and chickens* mow for us, we would be doing our part for the environment and getting some exercise.

Yes, you can laugh uproariously now. If I weren’t so tired, I’d be laughing at myself, too. After two days of using a push mower to mow my mother-in-laws yard, and then parts of ours, I was exhausted. Our lawn is not even entirely mowed, either! There’s still the side of the garage and one side of the house, a small part by the garden, some by the cornfield and out by the road, and then another part by the corn. I have no idea how many acres we have to mow, but it’s too much to do with a push mower, let alone a reel mower and cows! Clearly, that was not one of my better ideas.

Despite how that idea turned out, I keep thinking about what we can change so that we have less grass to mow. Even when we get a riding mower, it would be better for the environment, not to mention our pocketbook, to not have so much grass to mow. So another option is to let some of the grass go wild and turn into prairie grass again. But where to do that? Not near the house, of course, because we already have too many bugs and ticks. Not along the driveway for the same reason. There might be some parts near the corn that we could either skip mowing or we could incorporate into pasture when the time comes. The only other idea I have is to put a big circle of mulch around all the trees. That will help, but there’s still a lot of grass to mow. If we just had two acres of flat ground to mow, it might not be so bad. Or maybe if I were in better shape. Even so, I do have better things to do with my time than spend an entire day mowing. We have spent well over two hours mowing for each of the last two days. Everyone but Mo has mowed. Aidan loves mowing, though his technique could be more efficient. (I figured I’ll let him figure that out on his own because for now he really enjoys mowing and who am I to change that?)

So anyway, I have more mowing to do today. I can take the kiddos down by the bridge that is over the creek. They will have fun in the mud and the creek and I can get some mowing done. That’s the plan anyway! I might get all the mowing done today if I’m really ambitious.

*Scott the Farmer knows someone who wants a cow to show at the fair, which apparently means the cow would be tied to a tree and would eat the grass for us as part of the taming process. Also, the chickens do a fantastic job of mowing! The area around the garden is almost weed free and the grass is not long at all!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 Responses to “Sometimes you have to laugh at yourself”

  1. Erin Says:

    Wow, yeah, a reel mower for 2 acres sounds like WAY too much work!! We have a reel mower but much less area to deal with and it is still a challenge. Have you looked into buying or even renting a goat? We discussed renting goats to eat the honeysuckle AND the grass in our backyard but since we live in the city we can’t realistically buy our own. Grass is definitely a challenge, city or country!

  2. hippygirl Says:

    I do want to get some goats, but not just yet. 🙂 The kids and I went to Peoria last week and on the way back, we stopped at two different hosues to buy eggs. We didn’t end up buying eggs because no one was home at the first house and at the second, they were out. But we did see some pygmy or dwarf goats at one house. They were SOOOO cute! I totally want goats, but right now we need to get down our routine with the animals we have already. 🙂

  3. Eat your weeds « A Hippy Girl in the Country Says:

    […] I know that sounds silly, but it is weird how often that seems to happen. About two weeks ago I wrote about mowing and how we really need less grass. Since then I have read so many things that are related to my need to have less grass. The first […]

Leave a Reply

