More chicks

OK, I know I haven’t posted in days and I have like three posts I’m working on and lots of things to update but no time. 🙂

But today I did pick up 20 more chicks, some of which will be meat birds. We will probably keep all that turn out to be hens, but we’ll see how many we end up with. The new chicks are Buff Orpingtons and already have some feathers on their wings and tails. They are a little over a week old and are in a brooder in the garage.

I will try to post more soon, as tomorrow is the 9 week birthday of our Big Chickens as we are now calling the New Hampshire chicks.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

4 Responses to “More chicks”

  1. Janelle Says:

    Awesome! I just found a blog all about butchering chickens that you might like too.

    http://butcherachicken.blogspot.com/

    • hippygirl Says:

      Yeah, I am totally not butchering and probably not eating the chickens because I don’t eat meat (though I am in a bit of a crisis about that as it doesn’t make sense to eat faux meat with 20+ ingredients when I can raise my own meat and we can hunt on our own land, but anyway). Our neighbor will be butchering his Cornish Crosses soon and I am sending the guys, including Aidan, over to help and learn. Then maybe our neighbor will help us when the time comes, too. I will check that site out, though. I’m sure this is one of those moments that someone could say, “In two years you will be raising and butchering and eating your own meat” and I wouldn’t believe them. Although since I’m thinking of it, maybe I do see it as a remote possibility. I could still eat vegetarian when out and about and then only eat the meat we actually grow ourselves. AHHH who knows! 🙂

  2. Moon Over Martinborough Says:

    We just got chickens and it’s great! I’ve wanted blue eggs so I got a breed of chicken called ‘Lavendar Araucana.’ I wrote about my quest to get blue eggs at ‘Moon Over Martinborough’. Have a look.

    • hippygirl Says:

      Thanks! I found your blog and will check it out soon. I read a bit about that treacherous road. Sounds fun! NOT!

Leave a Reply

