Barn envy

Before we moved, Tim drove from Phoenix to Illinois to bring a bunch of our stuff to the new house. Tom and I had only seen lots of pictures of the house and heard descriptions from my sister-in-law, mother-in-law, and a friend of the family who went to see the house. Tim told us that the road right by the house was gravel, which was a surprise to me (even though it should not have been a surprise). He also kept calling the large shed a barn. I argued that it was not a barn, but just a big shed. I was not mentally prepared to move from the suburbs to a place in the country with a gravel road and a barn. Now, about 7 months later, the gravel road is normal and I really wish our shed were indeed a barn. I see all kinds of barns and I want one. I have a serious case of barn envy.

Tags: , , , , , ,

3 Responses to “Barn envy”

  1. Janelle Says:

    lol – I totally think this way now too. When we lived in the city, I’d be like “oh, see that cool looking barn.” Now, I eye them like candy and make mental notes about all their features. I envy chicken coops too. And tractors. And just anyone who actually has enough gravel in their driveway to begin with. lol.

    I totally get it.

    • hippygirl Says:

      I’ve only seen barns from a distance, for the most part. I did see one up close and it was an old one but was really cool! Now I’m really check them out.

  2. Welcome « A Hippy Girl in the Country Says:

    […] Welcome By hippygirl Welcome to our country home, complete with gravel road (but unfortunately no barn). […]

Leave a Reply

