Farmer in training

The other day I read a really funny post with pictures of chickens taking dust baths, only they looked dead. The comments made me laugh out loud and the pictures were really funny, too. And then there were pictures of the beautiful feathers. I’d post a link but I cannot for the life of me find that blog or the post. It’s time for some gingko biloba or something, I guess. (EDITED to add that I found it!).

I saw my grandparents on Sunday and my grandma on Monday. My grandpa told me I am a farmer. I think I’m more of a farmer-in-training. Scott the Farmer came by this morning. He got out of his truck without turning it off, so I knew something was up as he usually chats with us for a while. It turns out one of the cows, Sweetie Cow, had gotten out and was on her way to Fandon, which is the town directly east of us. Fandon is probably the closest town, but it barely qualifies as a town since it doesn’t even have a sign, let alone a population on the sign (not that there is anything wrong with that, I’m just saying). So anyway, Scott said he hadn’t had a very good morning and that he didn’t get up until 5:30. HAHAHAHAHA. We get up at 8:30 or so. Even with the roosters crowing at dawn, we still wake up around 8:30. They even crow again right around that time, as if to tell us to get our butts out of bed already. So I’m sure the chickens would agree that we are farmers-in-training, if anything.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

6 Responses to “Farmer in training”

  1. Corinne Rasso Says:

    Thanks for linking to my blog! I am glad you enjoyed it :).
    I wonder if Sweetie Cow saw that TV commercial about the cows heading for California……….

  2. Janelle Says:

    I am sooo enjoying your blog. lol. The first few times our chickens did the dust bath “dead” pose, my husband and I freaked out. And it’s funny because since then I’ve thought of posting photos of it, but thought it would scare readers too much. It never occurred to me, they might LAUGH! lol.

    Thanks for the laugh.

  3. Paul Says:

    Funny! I don’t have any pictures yet. You can see some funny stories at my blog though. http://paulswr.wordpress.com/

  4. Wanted: Weekend Farmer (in training) « A Hippy Girl in the Country Says:

    […] word, but you know what I’m talking about since you are a weekend farmer being trained by a farmer-in-training). The chickens will range all day long and will put themselves back in their coop. In the evening, […]

Leave a Reply

