Friday Sounds

Things I heard today while at home:

Cows mooing in the evening and at night (occasionally it might be our cows, but mostly it’s not)

Frogs, lots of frogs!

Birds singing

Roosters crowing and chickens clucking

Chicks peeping

Cats meowing, growling, fighting

Cars on a gravel road

Babbling creek, if it’s really quiet

Big bumble bees and hummingbirds buzzing, which surprisingly sound the same

Kids playing, fighting

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

5 Responses to “Friday Sounds”

  1. Janelle Says:

    Are we neighbors? Seriously. I heard those things too! The frogs! I cannot believe how loud those critters get. It actually sounds as though they are ascending upon us at time.

  2. Christine Says:

    I love just listening to the sounds all around here. I’ve almost written a similar post on several occasions.

  3. hippygirl Says:

    I do love the sounds out here. It’s not really quiet in the country, though, is it? šŸ™‚ It’s just a very different noise from the city, where I could clearly hear the neighbors out talking on their phones, yelling at their kids (oh, sometimes that was me, too!), and swimming in their pools. Not to mention the cars and highway traffic and airplanes and helicopters. šŸ™‚

  4. Moon Over Martinborough Says:

    I like this post a lot. It makes me stop to think about the noises I hear out at our country place here in New Zealand. One of our biggest treats is to hear the Tuis (native birds) that hang out in the flax by our fish pond. They sing beautiful notes and also make a fantastic, R2D2-like mechanical click. Hear it here: http://www.mtbruce.org.nz/tuiinfo.htm

    In fact, now I’m thinking I should do a blog post on Tuis!

    Also, I absolutely love your blogroll. So many fantastic blogs.

    • hippygirl Says:

      It’s funny how there is this image that living in the country is somehow quiet. It isn’t really, is it? Yet it’s a different quality of noise than living in the city or suburbs.

      I’m sure where you live sounds similar to here, and yet very different. I mean, the same kind of noises, but the noises themselves are different due to different species living there. Please do write about it!

Leave a Reply

