Butchering

We only have one chicken to butcher. It’s our surprise rooster, the one that was supposed to be a pullet. We are butchering him because he has turned mean. He attacks the hens for no apparent reason and has also attacked three people. He hasn’t done any damage, but even so, his behavior is unpredictable. I know there are ways to show him who’s boss, but since we have two roosters and four hens at the moment, I am not willing to do the work it would take. Plus, we have at least one Buff Orpington rooster and possibly another. That will give us at least 2 roosters and 23 hens. If we end up with two Buff Orpington roosters we might have another to butcher.

Anyway, that’s all the post for now. I’ll write more when it’s done, but there isn’t really much to write. We are butchering him ourselves because we need to learn how to do it. I’m sure it will be messy and not fun. Honestly, I feel a bit sad and squeamish about it, but I know it needs to be done. I don’t want to ever feel so casual about it that it’s no big deal because that doesn’t fit with my own morals, if that makes sense.

Right now the guys, which today includes Tim’s son, Sam, are trying to catch the rooster. This is not very easy with a free range rooster (though Tom pointed out it would have been easier to do this morning when he was still in the coop). Oh well. We are learning and I am sure we will make mistakes and learn from them. Sometimes that is the best way to learn and figure things out.

Tags: , , , , , ,

3 Responses to “Butchering”

  1. Julia Says:

    I will be very interested to see how this goes for you. My husband is thinking we just bury our chickens instead of processing them for eating. I am thinking that would be a huge waste. Also I am considering just skinning them instead of trying to pluck them. We never eat the skin anyway so maybe that work too and make the job easier….

  2. hippygirl Says:

    Well, I’m not sure if it’s enough for another blog post, unless one or both of the guys write it….. but I guess it went OK. I think they learned a lot and it will be easier next time.

    I think skinning them is a good idea, but Tom wanted to roast this one, so he wanted the skin on. There is a website that Hot Belly Mama posted a link to that shows how to do it in 20 minutes and takes the skin and feathers off all at once. Have you seen that one? The plucking took a little bit of time (probably 5 minutes or so with both of them doing it), but it was pretty easy.

  3. First Egg « A Hippy Girl in the Country Says:

    […] here is a picture of the roasted chicken we had. It was the first time we ate food we’ve raised and butchered ourselves. Roasted chicken Possibly related posts: (automatically generated)First egg. Magic EggsFive Months […]

Leave a Reply

