Rainy days and Mondays are still exciting

We’re having a lazy, rainy day today. And yet there are still exciting things that have happened. First, we decided to let the little chickens out of their coop. I let them out before I let out the big chickens. The big chickens were none too happy about this, of course. Eventually I went outside with a plastic garbage can lid in had to let out the big chickens. I wanted to be prepared in case the pecking got out of hand. To my surprise, I let the big chickens out and they went the opposite direction, totally ignoring the little chickens.

Chicken Joe, mid crow

Chicken Joe, mid crow

Now, at some point there was a little pecking, mostly from Holly. Joe didn’t have to peck too much as I think he is secure in his place as top rooster and top chicken. So the little chickens were out ranging happily and peacefully. Last time I checked they were back in their coop roosting, probably to dry off since the ground is pretty soggy. I’m sure there will be more pecking as the two flocks reorganize into one or more flocks.

The other thing that happened is that Mama Cat went towards the creek. I followed her since I’ve been trying to get a look at her kittens, which were born around August 12. That’s the day she came back hungry and less round looking. I couldn’t find her kittens since they were somewhere near the creek and were hidden by the vegetation. A little while later, however, I spotted her moving one into the garage. I waited a bit to give her time to move them all, then went out to see where they were and try to get a look. I counted 3 kittens. Mama Cat was fine with me looking, but if I tried to reach in the box to move the kittens she would gently paw at me. I could tell she didn’t want me to put my hands in there, so I backed off. I’ll try to get pictures later, mayb when the sun decides to make a reappearance.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 Responses to “Rainy days and Mondays are still exciting”

  1. Paul Says:

    He looks like a proud rooster! We were lookin’ at his cousins this week at the fair.

  2. henwife Says:

    Hi, I have closed down my Beingmaisie blog as it was getting so much spam and i have a new one now
    http://www.thetowniechicken.wordpress.com

    all the best
    Gill

  3. hippygirl Says:

    Paul – he is a great rooster! I just hope he stays that way. 🙂

    Gill – glad to see you post because I went to your site to catch up and it was gone! I’ll change my link.

Leave a Reply

