Curried Butternut Squash soup

This last batch I made turned out pretty well. I did it in stages because I ran out of time and energy. The first step was to cook the celery, onions, and garlic. I may have used less celery than the recipe calls for, since I got it from my garden and it is not nearly as big as the stalks in the store. I think I added 3 or 4. Then I added the spices and cooked for a minute, then added the stock. At this point I think I let it simmer a bit and then turned it off. I let it cool then put it in the fridge. That was on Friday. I finished the soup on Sunday. I warmed up the onion and broth  mixture while I cut up the squash. Then I put in the squash and I just let it cook. Honestly, I didn’t pay much attention to how high the heat was or whether it simmered. I left it uncovered and just kept checking it, stirring it, and testing the squash. Anyway, it worked just fine and turned out yummy.

Curried Butternut Squash soup

Ingredients:

  • 2 tsp olive oil
  • 1 cup diced onion
  • 2 celery stalks, chopped
  • garlic to taste
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1 tbsp curry powder
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • cayenne to taste
  • 4 cups broth of your choice
  • 2 small or 1 large butternut squash, peeled, seeded, and cut into 2 in. cubes (or so)

Toppings (optional):

  • Sour cream or yogurt, chives, cilantro, tomato

Directions:

  1. Heat oil in large pan over the stove.
  2. Add onions and celery; Cook about 5 minutes or until soft.
  3. Add garlic and cook another minute.
  4. Add curry powder, cumin, and cayenne; Cook until fragrant or about 1 minute.
  5. Add stock, butternut squash, salt, and pepper.
  6. Bring to a boil, then reduce heat and simmer for about 15 minutes, or until squash is fork tender.
  7. Let soup cool a bit, then puree (You can also do this while the soup is hot and do it in smaller batches if you would like).
  8. Serve with toppings of your choice.

I think it would be possible to make the base (the onions, celery, and garlic with the spices and stock) and then keep that around to add any kind of vegetable or beans, such as zucchini, lentils, or black beans. I think a curried zucchini soup would be yummy, though not as creamy as butternut squash. I might have to experiment a bit since I am a bit overrun with zucchini at the moment!

2 Responses to “Curried Butternut Squash soup”

  1. beingmaisie Says:

    I have just bought a butternut squash with the intention of making soup so was pleased to come across this recipe. It sounds delicious and i think i’ll give it a go.

    • hippygirl Says:

      oh good! let me know how you like it. i think it’s delicious. i just wish it weren’t so hard to cut up butternut squash! 🙂

Leave a Reply

